Android Tablet Not Syncing Google Contacts

I finally bought a tablet for myself a couple of weeks ago. Nothing fancy, but I just wanted something cheap with a big screen, mostly for reading and browsing the web etc. In the end, I went for an IT 10″ Quad Core tablet running Android 4.4.2. I knew it wasn’t going to be top of the range, but it sounded just right for the money.

I haven’t had an Android device before, but it was pretty easy to get going. Pretty much as soon as I logged into Google, the GMail and Calendar apps automatically pulled all my details and “just worked”. A good start…

When I started to write an email though, I was a bit surprised to find that it didn’t seem to have any of my contacts. I looked at the list of applications, but couldn’t find anything that sounded like an address book or a contacts list. In the settings, under my Google account, there were check boxes to sync different data types, such as Calendar, Chrome, Gmail, but not Contacts (there was People, but that didn’t seem to do what I needed).

I’ve eventually figured out how to get it working…

I must be clear: I am not an Android expert and I am not recommending anyone to follow these steps. This is just what I’ve done and it appears to have worked for me. Your mileage may vary – follow these steps at your own risk!! As Firefox’s “about:config” page warns: “Here be dragons!!

It turns out, you need an application called “GoogleContactsSyncAdapter.apk“. This isn’t available in the Play Store. I got it from: [http://sourceforge.net/p/kk42one442s55/trunk/149/tree/system/app/GoogleContactsSyncAdapter.apk]. I downloaded this file, which put it in my “USB Storage/Download” folder. You can’t just run it from there, it needs putting into a special folder. I used “Solid Explorer” to put it in “Root/system/app” then powered off the device. When I turned it back on, I got a message popup saying something along the lines of it was applying an update. Once I got back in and went to my Google account under settings, there was now a “Contacts” option. This was looking promising. Now, when I started typing someone’s name into the address field in Google… it found them!

The only other thing I was wanting was some kind of address book app on the tablet. It turns out that there is an app in the background for contacts, but no icon to launch it. The simplest way I found to do this was to get “~ People” which (apparently) is pretty much just that shortcut into the built-in app.

What do you think?

